BookLovers of Bath

Beautiful books… for beautiful people…

Á La Recherche Du Temps Perdu - Marcel Proust

Chatto & Windus, 1941, Hardback.
Condition: Good. All volumes are a little tanned at the spines, more lightly to the boards. Edges of the text block lightly spotted. Pages lightly age-tanned. A presentable set.

From the cover: “Marcel Proust’s continuous novel Á la Recherche du Temps Perdu (Remembrance of Things Past) was originally published in eight parts, the titles and dates of which were: I. Du Cote de Chez Swann (1913); II. À I’Ombre des Jeunes Filles en Fleurs (1918), awarded the Prix Goncourt in 1919; III. Le Cote de Guermantes I (1920); IV. Le Cote de Guermantes II, Sodome et Gomorrhe I (1921); V. Sodome et Gomorrhe II (1922); VI. La Prisonnière (1923); VII. Albertine Disparue (1925); VIII.

Le Temps Retrouve Du Côté de Chez Swann has been published in English as Swann’s Way: A I’Ombre des Jeunes Filles en Fleurs as Within A Budding Grove: Le Côté de Guermantes as The Guermantes Way: Sodome et Gomorrhe as Cities Of The Plain: La Prisomière as The Captive: Albertine Disparue as The Sweet Cheat Gone: and Le Temps Retrouvé as Time Regained. The first seven parts were translated by C. K. Scott Moncrieff; the eighth by Stephen Hudson.”

In this uniform edition the volumes are:

1. Swann’s Way. Part I [1943]
2. Swann’s Way. Part II [1943]
3. Within A Budding Grove. Part I [1943]
4. Within A Budding Grove. Part II [1943]
5. The Guermantes Way. Part I [1943]
6. The Guermantes Way. Part II [1943]
7. Cities of The Plain. Part I [1943]
8. Cities of The Plain. Part II [1943]
9. The Captive. Part I [1941]
10. The Captive. Part II [1941]
11. The Sweet Cheat Gone [1944]
12. Time Regained [1944]

Size: 7½" x 4¾". Blue boards with Gilt on Red Title Plate titling to the Spine.